Last Night–One Attempt

So I tried it out again. I performed The Clothed Woman live with my trio last night. I played it last winter, but I didn’t feel comfortable with that performance. Last night it was better.

Now I think I can end my obsession with this tune. Please refer to an earlier post, “Revealing Ellington’s The Clothed Woman for a transcription. I concentrated on the first part, the “A”–and tried as best I could to show how it is, indeed, a standard blues in F. I think I can polish my performance more, perhaps with a couple more performances smooth it out, play the blues a bit more “outside” for a while, but you can get a rough idea in this recording from last night. So dig it:

This will definitely be on my trio record.

About Scott Healy

LA composer and performer.
This entry was posted in Duke Ellington, Free Jazz, Harmony, Jazz Composition and Analysis, Jazz history, Jazz piano, Solo piano, Theory and Harmony and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

